Sunday, February 12, 2012

Day 1 - Or is it day zero?

I spent the day successfully beating down every urge I had and kept calories below my goal. Meant no pizza with the kids and a heaping pile of tuna fish on a bed of lettuce... after I squirted it in my face. Bummer.

The biggest victory, imo, was that there were two kids of sweets in the house that I desperately wanted to destress with. Especially since Devo and I were/are having a big fight and my neverending project is never ending.

I broke down and weighed myself even though I didn't want to do that until march. It was good news, however, and I am down 3 lbs already despite only technically starting today. I chalk this up to our fridge water filter working again.
So I get to say: day 1 net -3.
Goal left: 77

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Day -1: Revolution

I have been tossing this idea in my head for a while but I decided to go with it today. I always thought that if I could stop being stupid and just make better choices, all the time and every time, I could make all my wildest dreams come true. Well maybe just lose weight and not gain it back. No weird fad diets, no craziness... just the opposite in fact. The Opposite Diet is born! The goal is to do the opposite of what my natural instincts and inclinations tell me to do. So I want to eat two cupcakes? Do the opposite! So I want to stay in bed instead of rising early for a run? Do the opposite! I wanted to call this the "Don't be stupid diet" but I thought I wouldn't beat myself up more than I have to.

Tomorrow begins day one. I have set myself up for success. I have a support text-buddy, "Elle" we'll call her, rewards determined for the first 4 goals reached, determination to only weigh myself weekly, and a half marathon to run in 2.5 months. Tomorrow begins day one of just plain not being stupid.

I don't even want to post my beginning weight, so i will just count down the goal:

80 pounds remaining.